Welcome To Aberdeen & District Pool League

  Create An Account Home  ·  Topics  ·  Stats  ·  Your Account  ·  Submit News  ·  Top 10 August 14, 2018  



>> Register <<

  Main Menu

  Who's Online
There are currently, 89 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here.

  Last Seen
Robinwright: 5 hours, 13 minutes ago
duncan: 13 hours, 42 minutes ago
Jghnfg477: 18 hours, 29 minutes ago
johanwilliam: 23 hours, 29 minutes ago
oliviawilson913: 1 day, 1 hour, 7 minutes ago
hanganu247: 2 days ago
atttechcare: 4 days ago
aoldesktopgolds: 4 days ago
adobecustomercare: 4 days ago
delltechcare: 4 days ago
katyperry: 4 days ago
Steve85: 4 days ago
amarawalter: 5 days ago
aliciakeys: 5 days ago
hussnain: 5 days ago
amandalove: 5 days ago
Al: 5 days ago
JackKlark: 6 days ago
qizhen0809: 6 days ago
aolemaillogin: 7 days ago
BeckySpencer: 7 days ago
yaoxuemei: 8 days ago
magicmushtqali: 8 days ago
davidson119: 8 days ago
ayers247: 10 days ago
Godgieds22: 11 days ago
furrybeast: 13 days ago
niajax: 14 days ago
unitedsoftwareconsultants: 14 days ago
nikkihope: 17 days ago

Archives: Dazza takes Aberdeen Masters Title
 Posted on Saturday, December 18 2004 @ 15:18:36 GMTby adpladmin
Darren Matthew beats Mike Clark 7-6
to become Aberdeen Masters champion 2004/5
Darren Matthew has won his first major Aberdeen singles tournament by beating Mike Clark in the final of the Aberdeen Masters. The venue was the Caledon Lounge Bar and the date Sunday 11 December 2004. In an exciting final Darren came back from 4-1 and 6-3 down to pip Mike 7-6 in a dramatic match. Both players played some fantastic attacking pool with 13 frames being played in just 60 minutes with numerous 8-ball finishes. Anyone interested in purchasing a DVD of the final (for only ?6) can do so by clicking here.

The Aberdeen Masters is now firmly established in the ADPL calendar of events and shall now be played for every year at the same time in the run up to Christmas. The tournament is seeded from the previous end of season Player Of The Year Rankings where the top 16 players in the ADPL are automatically seeded into the group stages...

The first 2 Prelim rounds saw several big name casualities with Scotland Internationals Stuart Keith, John and Pauline Hay, ex-Aberdeen Singles champion Les Taylor, Ellon singles champion Paul Simpson, and top local snooker player James Durno all crashing out. Several players qualified for the group stages including Phil Craig Jnr and Martin McIntosh (both members of the 2003 Scottish Junior team that won the World Championships).

The next stage of the Masters saw 4 groups of 6 players playing down to fill the places in the last 16 of the competition. The top 4 in each group progressed to the knockout stages and it is here that the 16 seeded players joined the action.

Group 1 saw progression for Pat McCarron(2), John Falconer, Darren Gibb and Kev Coutts with Donald McLeod and Craig Hay(10) missing out. Reigning 17 year old Aberdeen Singles champion, Pat McCarron, coming through in ease in top spot.

Group 2 saw 4 players go through with ease leaving Scotland B Captain, Graham Reid, and Gary Strachan to miss out. Players to progress were Mike Clark(1), Ray Edmonstone(11), Phil Craig Jnr and Martin McIntosh. SEPF Tour number 1, Mike Clark, topping the group.

Group 3 saw Mark Gravener(6)edge out 147 snooker man Mark Oaten and 3 time World Junior pool champion Darren Matthew(4) for the group. Ewan Jessieman also qualified and the unlucky losers were Scotland international Simon Mitchell(9) and Keith Moir.

Group 4 saw a 3 way tie for first place with Scotland Mens Captain, Phil Craig Snr(3), winning on a frame countback from Jeff Turner(7) and Ian Stuart. Also seaking through on countback was Deryck Scott(12) from Dave McGregor(24) with Martin Campbell bringing up the rear in the group.

The Aberdeen Masters finals day took place at the Caledon Lounge Bar and saw a great days pool with a very strong field in attendance. The event is seeded and this meant several top players would be kept apart in the draw until the later stages.

The Last-16 saw some interesting match-ups with Darren Gibb edging Jeff Turner in a long match and Phil Craig Jnr defeating Mark Oaten. Senior international Mark Gravener defeated junior international Martin McInrosh 6-3. There were also comfortable wins for Mike Clark, Ian Stuart, Phil Craig Snr, Darren Matthew and Pat McCarron.

The Quarter-Finals saw Mike Clark breeze past Ian Stuart, 18 year old Darren Matthew defeat 17 year old Pat McCarron 6-2, Mark Gravener edge Darren Gibb 6-4 and a first ever father-son match up in singles competition for Phil Craig Snr and Jnr which saw 5 times Aberdeen Singles champion Craig Snr triumph 6-2 agaisnt an edgy Craig Jnr.

The Semi-Finals saw two contrasting matches. In the first match first seed Mike Clark outclassed sixth seed Mark Gravener 7-1 with some excellent play. The other saw a titanic clash between Aberdeen pool legend and Scotland Mens Team Captain, 38 year old Phil Craig Snr, and 3 time junior World Champion and 18 year old prodigy, Darren Matthew. In a high calibre match, with many break finishes, Darren Matthew came back from 6-5 down to edge it 7-6.

The final saw the clash of two of Scotland top players at the moment and did not disappoint. Mike Clark finished last year as SEPF Tour number 1 and Darren Matthew has won more than any other junior player in the game. Mike started off on fire racking up a 4-1 then 6-3 lead. Darren then capitalised on some loose play and bad run of the balls for Mike to reel of the next 4 frames and take the title of Aberdeen Masters champion 2004/5. This was Darren's first major senior title in Aberdeen and is sure to be the first of many!

The final was the first ever in ADPL history to be filmed. DVD's of the complete final can be purchased for only ?6 (including delivery) by clicking here.

Full results are available here.


  ADPL News

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2004 CML Web Design. All rights reserved.
This site is built using MyPHPNuke.

Site designed by CML Web Design

Page took 0.026341 seconds to load.