Welcome To Aberdeen & District Pool League

  Create An Account Home  ·  Topics  ·  Stats  ·  Your Account  ·  Submit News  ·  Top 10 January 23, 2018  



>> Register <<

  Main Menu

  Who's Online
There are currently, 57 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

You are Anonymous user. You can register for free by clicking here.

  Last Seen
ChrisL: 21 hours, 58 minutes ago
Wilson: 22 hours, 32 minutes ago
dvdged3: 1 day, 9 hours, 17 minutes ago
qizhen0809: 1 day, 12 hours, 36 minutes ago
ET: 2 days ago
cowie: 2 days ago
GReid: 6 days ago
Spot: 6 days ago
uneedflowers: 7 days ago
FarleysAngel: 9 days ago
russo79: 10 days ago
Kano: 12 days ago
AnneSmith: 14 days ago
aa1oue: 18 days ago
Pedro: 21 days ago
samuelcunard2: 27 days ago
MariaBritt: 27 days ago
yaoxuemei: 27 days ago
craigdobbin11: 32 days ago
johnnyboy: 33 days ago
gaurishhimm: 34 days ago
johnmrocco: 35 days ago
kwicktowingc: 35 days ago
Kimi: 36 days ago
alvinaash: 36 days ago
mackay246: 37 days ago
Ryz677: 40 days ago
marcgarneau2: 41 days ago
maryclark19: 41 days ago
Rich: 43 days ago

Archives: Mike Annal Wins the Inaugural Sh88ters Div 2 Challenge Event
 Posted on Friday, March 04 2011 @ 10:38:43 GMTby adpladmin
Other News

The inaugural Sh88ters Div 2 Challenge Event took place on Saturday 26th February at Sh88ters, Chapel Street Aberdeen. The event attracted a strong field of almost 60 players and the atmosphere they created was fantastic. The main Event kicked off at 10am and it must be said the tables were in superb condition. Sh88ters staff had worked late into the night to ensure everything was just right for hosting their first event.Matches came fast and furious and amazingly everything ran according to schedule for most of the day.

Highlights of the first round were an excellent comeback from Andy Eager, 3-0 down to George Morrison he spun off 4 frames in quick succession to win 4-3. Martin Campbell had a solid 4-0 win against Alan Scott and Ray Edmonstone breezed through 4-0 against John Hay. Mike Annal quietly progressed winning 4-1 against Ronnie Clark. Maybe the surprise of the round was when Holburn teamates Grant Turnbull and Alex Rayne met. A 4-0 drubbing by Alex ensued.

Round 2 was almost as easy for Ray Edmonstone...

...with a 4-1 win over Paul Diack, Another tough Match for Andy Eagar saw him defeat Andy Beattie 4-2. Martin Campbell again clocked up another 4-0 win against Rab Stewart while Moray Milligan slipped through another round defeating Kev Slotwinski 4-0. Tournament Director Lindsay Ahern was still holding his own and comfortably defeated Keith Milne 4-2, mixed emotions for Keith as he had ?10 at 5/1 on the big man to win the event.

Last 16 saw Scott Hector who had come through virtually unnoticed beat Simon Carr 4-1. Moray Milligan wiped out Martin Campbell 4-0 these were the first frames Martin had lost all day. Andy Eager, Lindsay Ahern and Ray Emonstone progressed with relative ease while Gary Thomson, Jim Cruickshank and Mike Annal all made it through to the qtr finals.

Scott Hector played very well to overcome an inform Moray Milligan 5-2 while it was reported that you could hear Andy Eager's bottle crashing on Union Street as he went down 5-3 to Lindsay Ahern. The other matches saw convincing wins for both Ray Edmonston and Mike Annal 5-1 and 5-0 respectively.

The first semi final was a tense affair between Lindsay Ahern and Scott Hector with the older head eventually coming through, nobody could have predicted what happened in the other semi when Ray Edmonstone inexplicably played the wrong colour in the last frame to cost him the match.

And so the final was between Lindsay Ahern and Mike Annal, if we are honest it was not the best of matches and I am sure both players would agree. It was nip and tuck with Lindsay edging ahead 3-2, a missed chance in the 6th frame let Mike in and he never looked back taking the title 5 frames to 3. The match was played in great spirits and in fact the same should be said of the whole day. Everyone who attended contributed something to the event and we should look forward to the next 4 being as successful.

Finally a special mention to Grant Turnbull who brushed himself down after his first round drubbing to soldier on and win the Plate event beating Alex Faur in the Final.


  Other News

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest 2004 CML Web Design. All rights reserved.
This site is built using MyPHPNuke.

Site designed by CML Web Design

Page took 0.046322 seconds to load.